For The Isle: Musings on Pacific FC
For The Isle: Musings on Pacific FC
'I'm scratching the surface': One-on-one with Pacific FC defender Abdou Samake
0:00
-29:11

'I'm scratching the surface': One-on-one with Pacific FC defender Abdou Samake

On growing up a fan of Ronaldinho, life in the Montreal Impact academy, and finding his place with Pacific FC
Pacific FC’s Abdou Samake warms up ahead of his club’s match against Valour FC on August 29, 2021. Photo: Pacific FC / Sheldon Mack.

Join For The Isle's Martin Bauman and special guest Abdou Samake as the two discuss Samake’s path from Mali, to Montreal Impact’s academy, to winning the Big Ten with the University of Michigan Wolverines, to finding his form as one of Pacific FC’s stalwart centre-backs.

Samake, on his first conversation with Pa-Modou Kah before joining Pacific FC:

“As soon as you hear somebody who plays in your position, and who played it so well, and had such an amazing career… I’m a student of the game. Even now, for me, I’m just getting started; I’m scratching the surface of my football, so as soon as he spoke to me and [shared] the ideas he had for this club, and also how he wants his centre-backs to play, and the style he wants to play, I knew I had found a mentor.”

  • 3:43: Growing up admiring Ronaldinho, Didier Drogba

  • 4:13: Memories of childhood in Mali

  • 4:49: Moving to Canada

  • 7:38: Joining the Montreal Impact academy

  • 10:12: Becoming a centre-back, admiring Vincent Kompany

  • 13:44: USL experiences

  • 15:04: Playing for the University of Michigan Wolverines

  • 18:48: Ending up at Pacific FC

  • 21:38: Growing pains of 2020 season

  • 26:59: Confidence in 2021

0 Comments